top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleah

Risoni Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach

Another week, another lockdown recipe, and this time I bring you a summer-friendly risotto that is light, cheesy, and full of flavour. I've made this recipe twice in the last two weeks and I think I'll be adding it to the weekly menu for the foreseeable future. The risoni not only allows the risotto to cook a lot faster, but also gives a much lighter body than rice. Often I find myself taking a good hour or so to make a rich risotto, only to lose my appetite by the time it's ready to plate, but this bad boy is the perfect light comfort meal, or an easy side dish to serve at your next (double vaxxed) dinner party.



You can absolutely switch up the flavours in this - my mushroom and spinach hating boyfriend (I know, how do I look past this huge roadblock in our relationship?), requested red onion and chorizo flavour, which I will definitely be trying next week.



If you're interested in a more traditional rice risotto, be sure to check out my vegetarian risotto for a slightly heavier meal, perfect for winter nights rugged up on the couch.



Ingredients:

Serves 2

  • 1 Cup Risoni

  • 200g Mushrooms, Sliced

  • 1 Brown Onion, Finely Chopped

  • 100g Baby Spinach, Chopped

  • 1 1/2 Cup Chicken or Vegetable Stock

  • 1/4 Cup White Wine

  • 1/2 Cup Pecorino Romano, Finely Grated

  • 1 Tbs Butter

  • Salt and Pepper


Let's Make this Risotto:

  1. In a large pot, melt butter and add onion. Cook on a low heat for around 10 minutes until onion is translucent and beginning to caramelise.

  2. Add wine and deglaze the pan - use a wooden spoon to gently scrape any sugars stuck to the bottom of the pan. Cook off wine until evaporated.

  3. Add mushrooms and turn up heat to medium. Stir regularly and once mushrooms are soft and browned, add spinach and stir.

  4. Once spinach is wilted, add risoni and stir to combine.

  5. Pour in the stock and stir, and leave on a medium heat for about 10 minutes or until risoni is cooked through.

  6. Add pecorino and stir well. Season to taste, remembering the cheese and stock are already salty.

  7. Serve and enjoy while watching Jeopardy on the couch.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page