top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleah

Easy Sausage Rolls

Yesterday I spent the afternoon whipping up some of my family's favourite foods to stock up the freezer for when they visit during the holidays. There aren't many things I like more than cooking, but spending time with my family is certainly up there and the last thing you want during the holidays is to be spending half your time in the kitchen and missing out on all the fun. If making food was a love language I'd be 100% in that category, so of course I want to make sure my nieces and nephews eat all their favourites while they're here, so I've been doing my best to fill the freezer with as many goodies as possible in preparation.



Among my spring rolls, lasagna, and hot cross buns (recipe to come!), I made these incredibly easy sausage rolls, which make for great dinners served with any salad, or as a quick lunch. These can be frozen for a few months after making (as if they're going to last that long), and are sure to win over any hangry children. We have also made these with some hidden veg such as grated carrot or zucchini, so they also have the potential to be Trojan Horses of goodness. If feeding fussy ones, I also recommend grating the onion instead of chopping for undetected flavour, just as my Mum did for me.


If freezing, wait for the sausage rolls to cool after baking, and store in an airtight container. I like to use the Glad (sponsor me) Go Between film between each layer of rolls to stop them sticking. You can bake them straight from frozen for around an hour in a 180 degree oven.



Ingredients:


  • 500g Sausage Mince

  • 500g Beef Mince

  • 1 Brown Onion, Finely Chopped

  • 1 Clove Garlic, Minced

  • Salt and Pepper

  • 1 Egg, Beaten

  • 4 Sheets Puff Pastry

  • 2 Tbs Poppy Seeds (Optional)


Let's Make These Sausage Rolls:


  1. Pre heat oven to 180 degrees fan forced and line a large baking tray with baking parchment.

  2. In a large bowl, combine the sausage mince, beef mince, onion, garlic, and season to taste. If you were adding some sneaky veggies, add those in too.

  3. Place 4 tablespoons of mixture across the bottom of a sheet of pastry, leaving about 2cm along the bottom and sides. Roll pastry over the mixture and keep rolling until all pastry has been used. Use your hands to move the mixture around inside the pastry to make sure it is evenly spread. I like to cut off the ends for a clean finish, but you can also tuck them in to avoid catching.

  4. Score across the top of the pastry and cut the roll in half. Place on the baking tray and repeat until all mixture is used.

  5. Lightly brush the tops of the sausage rolls with the beaten egg, and if desired sprinkle over the poppy seeds.

  6. Bake for 25 minutes or until pastry is golden and flaky.

21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Alexandra Zappia
Alexandra Zappia
Mar 09, 2021

100% just here for the food. Just kidding.. or am I? 😐😂

Like
bottom of page