top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleah

The Perfect Picnic Quiche

I can't tell you how many times I've made this quiche and said "I should open a cafe and serve this!" - I think Mum is sick of my crazy outbursts of ambitions to sell my food. This quiche is creamy, easy to make, and can be served hot at dinner or cold on a picnic.


This recipe is for a crustless quiche, however you can quickly blind bake a shortcrust base and pour in the mix if you like. I'm sure you're sick of reading this, but like all my recipes you can substitue any of the veggies for your favourites. As long as you keep the eggs, milk, and flour ratio, the world is your oyster - but please do not put oysters in your quiche.


We recently started ordering fresh produce deliveries, which I was super excited about because the boxes are completely random each time, meaning I have to be creative each week with how I use my veggies. A few weeks ago, we were lucky(?) to get a kilo of brussel sprouts in our delivery. I love all vegetables but I admit I haven't given much energy into creating versatile dishes with brussel sprouts. Determined to use these in a tasty way and not let them go to waste, I sweated them in some oil and garlic and added them to my quiche recipe, and Mum claims it was the best quiche I've made to date.




Ingredients:


  • 3 Eggs

  • 1 1/2 Cups Skim Milk

  • 1/2 Cup Self Raising Flour

  • 1 Cup Tasty Cheese, Grated

  • 4 Rounds Bacon, Chopped

  • 1 Cup Spinach, Shredded

  • Pepper, to season


Let's Make This Quiche:


  1. Pre heat oven to 180 degrees fan forced and line a square baking tin with parchment paper.

  2. Lightly fry bacon in a pan and set aside to cool slightly.

  3. Add eggs, milk, and flour to a mixing bowl and whisk thoroughly. Add cheese, bacon, and spinach and mix well. Add pepper as desired - you don't need to add any salt as the bacon is salty enough.

  4. Pour into the baking tin and bake in over for 40 minutes.




33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 commentaire


Alexandra Zappia
Alexandra Zappia
31 mai 2020

Foolproof recipe ❤️

Was a big hit at dinner tonight! Can't wait to try adding different veggies next time but it will be hard to top this!


J'aime
bottom of page