top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleah

Zucchini Slice

I haven't been experimenting with new recipes lately - mostly because I've been making my previous recipes to death because I can't get enough of them! (Hello, tortellini cabonara, pumpkin soup, and ratatouille) Tonight we did a freezer clean out; quite possibly my most dreaded meal of all time, because I like creating things from scratch and not letting the freezer gods dictate my dinner. To compensate, I used some zucchini I had set aside and made this absolute classic to accompany my sad frozen sausages.


This recipe is beautifully versatile, and a great way to increase your kid's veggie intake. Serve hot with dinner or cold at a picnic, or pack it for school lunches. I also like to sprinkle in some chilli flakes if it's just for the adults.




Bub's Tips for the Tastiest Slice:


  • These can be made into muffins and make a great school snack. All you need to do is pour into muffin cases and adjust cooking time to 20 minutes.

  • Be creative with your veg! You can add different coloured capsicums, grated carrot, corn kernels, spinach etc

  • Cut the slice into portions and wrap individually in baking paper before freezing in an air tight container. These will last up to a month in the freezer, which means you can always have this tasty treat on hand!


Ingredients:


  • 2 Zucchini

  • 1 Red Onion. Diced

  • 1 Red Capsicum, Diced

  • 3 Rashers Bacon, Chopped

  • 1 Cup Tasty Cheese

  • 1 Cup Self Raising Flour

  • 1/2 Cup Rice Bran Oil

  • 5 Eggs

  • Salt and Pepper, to Season


Let's Make this Slice:


  1. Pre heat oven to 170 degrees and line a square baking tin with parchment paper.

  2. Lighly fry bacon until cooked through and allow to cook slightly.

  3. Grate the zucchini, and place into a muslin wrap over the sink. Squeeze out any excess moisture, to avoid making the slice soggy.

  4. Add the zucchini, capsicum, onion, bacon and cheese into a big mixing bowl. Add the eggs, oil, and flour and mix until combined. Add in seasoning and chilli flakes and stir.

  5. Pour into baking tin and bake for 35 minutes.

25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Alexandra Zappia
Alexandra Zappia
Jul 20, 2020

This is delicious! Added some grated pumpkin because it's my fav. Hopefully there will be some left by tomorrow for school lunches!


Like
bottom of page